Search form


Celebration of Philanthropy

The Community Foundation of Anne Arundel County (CFAAC) is now accepting nominations for its 23rd annual Celebration of Philanthropy Awards through July 31, 2023. Community members, nonprofit organizations, businesses, and members of the faith communities are encouraged to nominate an individual, family, group, or organization who have demonstrated exceptional generosity through direct financial support or service, and outstanding civic and charitable work in Anne Arundel County.

Honorees will be notified in September and recognized at the Celebration of Philanthropy Awards Luncheon on November 17, 2023. The event, which will celebrate the commitment, passion, and leadership of Anne Arundel County’s most dedicated community members, will be held at the LIVE! Casino Hotel® Maryland in Hanover, MD.

“When Carol Thompson founded the Community Foundation 25 years ago, she sought to make a difference and create positive change throughout the county, and with this annual award celebration, we are acknowledging the honorees for upholding that vision through philanthropy,” said CFAAC President and CEO Mary Spencer. “Nominating someone for a Celebration of Philanthropy award is a unique opportunity for others to recognize Anne Arundel County individuals, families, or organizations who go above and beyond to make our community a better place for all.”

2023 Celebration of Philanthropy Award Categories

Philanthropist of the Year Award Presented to an individual, a family, or family foundation who has demonstrated outstanding civic and philanthropic responsibility through direct, exceptional financial support and leadership in advancing philanthropy. Read the full description here.

Corporate Philanthropist of the Year Award Presented to a local business or corporation that demonstrates outstanding civic and philanthropic responsibility through direct financial support and leadership in the community. Read the full description here.

Volunteer of the Year Award Presented to an individual or a team with a long history of volunteering who has made a significant impact on nonprofit organizations. Read the full description here.

Young Volunteer of the Year Award Presented to an individual student or a youth group who has demonstrated extraordinary commitment to the community through volunteering. Read the full description here.

Boots on the Ground Award Presented to an individual who has gone above and beyond in the service of one or more nonprofit organizations; giving their time and talent to make a significant impact. Read the full description here.

Carroll H. Hynson, Jr. Award for Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion (DEI) in Philanthropy Named in honor of a former CFAAC board member, this award is presented to an individual, group, or organization that supports philanthropy through DEI efforts. Read the full description here.

Carol Thompson Lifetime Achievement Award Named in honor of CFAAC’s founder, this award is presented to an individual who has made lasting, significant, and impactful contributions to Anne Arundel County by advancing philanthropy. Read the full description here.

Legacy Award for Planned Giving Recognizes a family or an individual philanthropist who has made a significant contribution to one or more local nonprofits using a planned gift. Read the full description here.

Click here to read about the Eligibility Criteria, Nomination Process, and Tips for Writing a Great Narrative

2023 Sponsorship Opportunities

Sponsorship Opportunities will be available in Summer 2023

Sponsors of the Celebration of Philanthropy will have the opportunity to promote their business to our community’s most invested and charitable residents. Information on sponsorships and questions about the nominations can be directed to Damika Baker-Wilson at 410.280.1102, ext. 102. 

Past Celebration of Philanthropy Information

Past Award Recipients

Past Event Highlights