Search form


CFAAC’s Celebration of Philanthropy Luncheon honors our community heroes

Larry Clark will be honored with the Community Foundation of Anne Arundel County’s Celebration of Philanthropy Award.  (David Trozzo Photography)

Larry Clark will be honored with the Community Foundation of Anne Arundel County’s Celebration of Philanthropy Award. (David Trozzo Photography) (David Trozzo)


Quietly giving behind the scenes has been Larry Clark’s philanthropic approach for years. While he wears his love for the community on his sleeve, his giving has been silently tucked away, giving what was necessary and impactful for the nonprofits he cares about most.

Clark, who has worked tirelessly for our county and embodies the concept of philanthropy, will be honored this week with the Community Foundation of Anne Arundel County’s prestigious Celebration of Philanthropy Award.

The award presented to an individual whose lifetime commitment to philanthropy has had a direct and lasting effect on our community. Clark’s charitable contributions to Anne Arundel County, both individually and through grants from the Deerbrook Charitable Trust, add up to more than $17.5 million over the past 25 years.

In addition to providing financial support, Clark volunteers countless hours and provides hands-on expertise to local organizations, serving on boards and encouraging others to take philanthropic roles in the community.

Clark will receive this award at CFAAC’s 23rd annual Celebration of Philanthropy Awards Luncheon on Nov. 17 at LIVE! Casino Hotel in Hanover.

People like Clark impact our community for the better through their passion, dedication and generosity. CFAAC on Friday will honor him, nine other community recipients and four professional adviseors who have embraced philanthropy.

Young Volunteer of the Year: Indu Bodala exhibits leadership and dedication within the Anne Arundel County Public Schools through her volunteer work with the school district and many area nonprofits such as SPAN and BKind.

Young Volunteer of the Year: Andrew Nolan demonstrates extraordinary commitment to local nonprofits such as the Marshall Hope Corporation. His leadership on many projects and willingness to help out has made a significant impact in our community.

Carroll H. Hynson, Jr. Award for Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion in Philanthropy, named in honor of founding CFAAC board member Carroll H. Hynson, Jr. Maurice B. Tosé has led the way for many county initiatives championing diversity, equity and inclusion, including playing a pivotal role in the building of the Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Memorial on the Anne Arundel Community College campus.

Boots on the Ground Award: Peter Summers goes above and beyond to advance the mission of the Boys & Girls Clubs of Annapolis & Anne Arundel County. He does this through volunteering countless hours, mobilizing resources, leading by example and advocating for those in need.

Corporate Philanthropist of the Year: M&T Bank has made a positive impact on the lives of people in the county through financial support and volunteer efforts with the YWCA, Anne Arundel County Food Bank and many other local nonprofits. In 2022 alone, M&T supported 105 nonprofits with corporate giving and provided 4,600 hours of employee volunteerism.

Carol Thompson Lifetime Achievement Award, named in honor of CFAAC founder Carol Thompson. Michael (Mike) Ragland Sr. is a champion for people with intellectual and developmental disabilities. He has been volunteering with local nonprofits such as Langton Green and Annapolis Civitan Club for many years.

Legacy Award for Planned Giving: The Estate of Dr. Michael J. Kurtz. Kurtz’s generosity during his life and then after his passing to local nonprofits such as the Wellness House of Annapolis and the Annapolis Symphony Orchestra is an inspiration to all.

Volunteer of the Year: Scott Gregory gives liberally of his time to Books for International Goodwill, the Parole Rotary Club, St. Anne’s Church and many other community nonprofits. He has made an impact with his extensive volunteerism and commitment to others in need.

Philanthropists of the Year: Mike and Trish Davis not only generously contribute to organizations such as the Maryland League of Conservation Voters and Chesapeake Bay Foundation through significant financial support, but they also demonstrate outstanding civic and philanthropic responsibility and exemplary leadership in advancing philanthropy.

Professional Advisor Recognition Society

The CFAAC Professional Advisor Recognition Society acknowledges professional advisors for their commitment and service to the community and their work to support philanthropy and encourage charitable giving in Anne Arundel County.

The 2023 inductees are Danielle Cruttenden, McNamee Hosea; Frederick R. Franke, Franke-Beckett LLC; Nicole T. Livingston, Council, Baradel, Kosmerl & Nolan, PA and Justin Roudiez, White Oak Wealth Management.

All of CFAAC’s honorees exemplify philanthropy’s power to create a better life for everyone and showcase what makes Anne Arundel County a wonderful place to live. Read their inspiring stories and find out more about CFAAC’s Celebration of Philanthropy Awards at

The Community Foundation of Anne Arundel County (CFAAC) is celebrating 25 years as a tax-exempt, 501(c)(3), publicly supported philanthropic organization with the long-term goal of building permanent funds that provide support to local nonprofit organizations through grants and special projects. Our mission is to inspire and promote giving in Anne Arundel County by connecting people who care with causes that matter. Established in 1998, CFAAC is one of the largest funders of nonprofit organizations in Anne Arundel County. CFAAC distributes $4 to $6 million annually.

This story was originally printed in the November 12, 2023 edition of the CAPITAL GAZETTE.


Sign up and stay connected with CFAAC:

Thank you! Your submission has been received!

Oops! Something went wrong while submitting the form